a journal of my journey

A New Day- Reflections and Lessons from the Past

Image

Tomorrow starts a new day in ministry but it also brings back memories of the past. A few years ago I was part of a fledgling fellowship group who spent time worshipping and studying out of my home. The community and the study was great. We had no real aspirations of being anything more. Maybe with time we could become more. Simply we were happy and content where we were and the small steps we were taking to push ourselves to something more. Then a consultant suggested to us that we had a enormous potential and we were not fulfilling what God was calling us to be. Within a month we were preparing to launch/ preview something more. Our team was excited… the possibilities that were floating around was endless. I remember standing on the stage/ pulpit area with my assembled “congregation” and shaking. In the matter of weeks we had gone from a handful of us to a borrowed Sanctuary of 45. I was shaking because people actually showed up. Did those people know that it was me that was leading this? After-all, it was me in all my insecurities and failures leading this. Ultimately, this group became part of something great and most of my core team has matured in faith as we walked those shaky paths together.

As I write this right now, those same feelings are washing over me. For the past four months I have been making a concerted effort to reach out and develop relationships in the community. This is one of the first major steps in creating a new worshipping community. Tomorrow is our first “large” gathering, where we bring these people together for the purpose of developing a deeper sense of community and faith. The tone of this “new thing” really starts tomorrow, and my knees are shaking. Will anyone show up? Will it last? Is this what God wants us to do? Am I adequate? All these questions and more keep running through my head. One thing I do know… God is in charge and I am simply along for the ride. I am reminded that we are in this time and place for a particular purpose much like Esther:

For if you remain silent athis time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such time athis? -Esther 4:14

Please keep us in your prayers as we start this whole “new thing” tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

